My dream…

Image

This photo represents the kitten in my dream perfectly. Photo from: arkive.org

I’m heading to work when I have to get off of the highway and take a small, curved service road that runs through an open barn and farm house. Just as I start to pull back onto the highway, I stop because I think I’ve heard kittens cry. So, I stop and back up my car. There, laying on a peeling, white plank shelf are four young tabby kittens laying pitifully. They are starving. I can see their ribs and that their bodies are in decay. In a box are newly born kittens mewling.  There is no mother cat, nor human, at this point to help.

So, I start looking for dry cat food to dip in water to feed all of the kittens but it is not enough. People start to appear and a man takes the box of the newly born kittens to a truck and a woman in a rocking chair, watching, says they have a rescue farm and they will take the newborns there to raise. I’m very pleased.

I’m surrounded at this point by people watching sympathetically at my efforts to revive the older kittens. Still laying on their sides. I watch the flies crawl on and off. There are four of these kittens that I’m trying to save.

The second kitten in the row is one I start focusing on. He is a beautiful reddish brown and I’m feeding him when he stands up and grabs my index finger between his teeth and starts painfully biting down. I’m screaming for help! I can feel the bones in my finger crushing and so many people are there watching but making sympathetic “tsking” noises, listening to my cries, but no one steps forth to help. So I use my other hand to grab the kitten’s mouth and notice the proportions are distorted. A large body with legs that are freakishly long. He is growling, his ears are flat, he doesn’t care that I was trying to save him.

I get my finger free, it’s throbbing painfully…but I reach out with my good hand to try and scratch this vicious cat’s ears to try and make friends…assure him I’m not the enemy…and he lunges to attack again…

Leave a comment